Chapman, Christenson Earn Texas League Best Honors


The Midland Rockhounds announced Wednesday former third baseman Matt Chapman and manager Ryan Christenson earned Texas League player/manager of the year honors.

Chapman now plays for Triple-A Nashville after leading the league in home runs.

The team also announced shortstop Franklin Barreto is transferring to Triple-A Nashville Wednesday. He joins Beau Taylor on the Texas League Postseason All-Star team.

The team hopes to win its third Texas League Championship in as many years.

The playoffs start Wednesday, September 7 against the Corpus Christi Hooks. The Rockhounds will play at Whataburger Field at 7 p.m. to kick off a best-of-five series on the road.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

More BorderReport

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss