Gov. Abbott, TDEM re-request 54 counties for disaster declaration

Local News

(AP Photo/Eric Gay)

AUSTIN, Texas (Nexstar) – Gov. Greg Abbott and the Texas Division of Emergency Management have re-requested that 54 additional counties be included in the major disaster declaration.

The Governor previously requested all 254 counties be included in the declaration, which was partially approved by the White House. The partial approval included individual assistance for 77 counties in Texas and public assistance in all 254 counties.

The Governor said FEMA approved an additional 31 counties for the declaration on Monday.

At least three counties in West Texas are still not apart of the major disaster declaration; Midland, Ector, and Howard. Abbott and TDEM have since re-requested they, and 51 other counties, be included in the major disaster declaration.

“Our partnership with FEMA and the Biden Administration has opened up crucial resources for several of our communities – but there are still many counties who need this federal assistance as they recover from this winter storm,” Gov. Abbott said in a statement Thursday. “I ask FEMA to quickly grant this request so that we can ensure access to the relief that Texans need in the wake of this disaster.”

The request comes ahead of the President’s visit to Houston, Friday.

The White House said the President is committed to working with Gov. Abbott on recovery efforts and looks forward to discussing it tomorrow in Houston.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss
April 22 2021 09:00 am