ECISD trustees approve memorial scholarship fund

Local News

Will honor mass shooting victims

The Victims

More WTS Victims

ODESSA, Texas (Big 2/Fox 24) – On their regularly scheduled meeting, the Ector County ISD Board of Trustees voted to approve a memorial scholarship fund in honor of those killed in the Labor Day weekend mass shooting.

Trustees voted unanimously to approve the scholarship fund which will be awarded in May 2020.

According to ECISD, donations for the scholarship fund will be accepted throughout the year and will be given to one senior from each high school.

Criteria for the scholarships will be determined by campus or district administration, the district said.

While those scholarships will not be given in the name of any one victim, Odessa High School and Permian High School will be writing their guidelines to honor Leilah Hernandez and Joe Griffiths.

As you may recall, seven people were killed in the mass shooting and several others were injured.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Don't Miss